a Tinkertoy Life!

Daily Prompts: Create & Triumph & Revelation

Who knew
playing with
Tinkertoy’s,
as a kid, 

would lead
to this?

WHAT IS A TINKERTOY?

Tinkertoy is a child’s toy construction set that has been around for over a hundred years. 1914

The creator came up with the idea while watching children playing with sticks, pencils and empty wooden thread spools (there was no plastic yet).

Color was added in the 1950’s.

The unique tube packaging was another known feature of Tinkertoy.

plain-wood-vintage-tinkertoys.jpg
original wood Tinkertoy Construction set

Imagine launching a new idea of any kind,
one hundred years ago !

  • No Internet

  • No UPS

  • No TV Commercials

  • No Broadcast Radio

  • Marketing must have been tough!

There was Wireless Telegraphy…..

 

telimo wireless telegraph[3].jpg

ADVERTISING FOR TINKERTOY

Tinkertoy was promoted to the public through elaborate store displays, like a Ferris wheel, in and around Chicago.

mqdefault.jpg
like2do.com

Tinkertoy has been used to create complex machines.

Inducted to the National Toy Hall of Fame in 1998.

Hasbro owns the Tinkertoy brand, making both plastic and wooden sets.

A TINKERTOY LIFE

I grew up, playing with Tinkertoy’s and always had fun constructing and creating.

Fast forward half a century+…..

I am in a ‘temporary’ living situation and care to keep my ‘possessions’ to a minimal, for my near future travels.

My little netbook computer needs to be raised up and allow more airflow underneath. I was using two books. It made my computer smile

100_9712.JPG
resting on two books, for greater air flow. The pen and battery are there for ‘size comparison’

Then I loaned/gave a book to someone….. which was a good thing, for it pushed me into having to create something for my netbook to rest on that would be the right height for me. I prefer standing at the computer to work.

WHAT COULD I USE?

And this is when the light bulb of MY Tinkertoy days came on!
What a Revelation !

100_1170
cut paper tubes and toothpicks

 

100_1179
netbook resting on its new stand and enjoying a beach scene

And I Triumph again !

Thanx for reading,
ren

resources
wiki
 toy hall of fame
8 comments

Leave a Reply

