pt 1-Stress and Drama ~ Is it fun yet? : 2012 wave #15

{catch the other posts at Riding The 2012 Wave}

It was around 2007,
I made a conscious choice to:

REDUCE THE STRESS & DRAMA
in my world!
(good luck with that one, ego whispers)

I spent the prior five years
in a highly stressful & dramatic legal family situation.
It was not just the past five years that I had turmoil.
The majority of my life contained stress and drama.
(and you love it, ego reminds me)

I was maxed out!

Done with the dumb stuff.

My world had no more room
for drama and stress.
I would find a way to evict them both!
(good luck with that, says ego)

ONE *  > A major-minor change I made, was to:

‘CHOOSE MY BATTLES’

sandy ren 09.28.14.jpg
photo by unknown –  2010 Sarah and I clowning around at a family reunion

I selectively decided
which situations were
not very important
and could be allowed
to slide by.

  • Did it really matter that someone put the milk on the second shelf instead of the bottom one?
  • Long checkout lines in the stores made me furious.  Instead of getting angry, I would make small talk with those near me. People watch. etc.

I took a different approach
to how I viewed the things
that stressed me out.

Was it really worth the effort to get upset?

Did getting upset, solve anything?
(getting upset is the only way, jeers ego)

I picked my battles.

TWO **  >  I started paying attention to:

what my TRIGGERS were.

IMGP0578.JPG
photo by Heath
creation by ren

What stressed me?
I made a mental list of all these things.
(that won’t help! How dumb, says ego)

THREE ***  >  A huge factor which helped to reduce my stress,
was when I:

QUIT WATCHING TELEVISION in 2010.
(that won’t last, you love TV, reminds ego)
Not only did it ‘lighten my load’,
it generated a lot of free ME time,
not to mention, extra money. YAY

FOUR ****  >  One of my most challenging changes,
was to:

ALLOW EVERYONE TO HAVE
THEIR OWN DRAMA AND STRESS!

BOSS5614.JPG
photo by Heath

[sounds crazy, huh?]
(dumbest plan I ever heard of, ego adds)

 to be continued,
ren

Originally posted July 20, 2016
Updated fall/winter 2016/2017

 

2 thoughts on “pt 1-Stress and Drama ~ Is it fun yet? : 2012 wave #15

  1. Pingback: stress & drama ~ is it fun yet? | Branching Out

Leave a Reply

