a funny thing happened to me on my way through WordPress today

This is kind of….. funny

smiley joe.jpg
photo by ren

No!
Not the camel, silly…..

! ! ! ! !

What I have to share with you, 
is kind of funny…..

I have been wondering….

for a loooong time now….

why was I not getting email notices
of new posts
from my subscriptions ??????

And time went on….

I would get lost in the Notification bell icon
and work my blog interactions thru that.

Or peek in on the Reader and interact there.

BUT, today….when I realized
I missed an important post
of a dear bloggered friend….

and I missed it by 11 days….???

That was UNACCEPTABLE ! ! !

I was left speechless of what to say to her!
I did visit her post and gave her Octopus Hugz….
that was all I could conceive of at the time….
And I have not told her yet,
about what I discovered.

kool award post.JPG

Do yourselves a favor, and drop over to Dolly’s blog….
koolkosherkitchen

Not only will you discover awesome foods and recipes,
you will get a unique learnings, in the process.
Dolly is a talented cook and fabulous author….
or is that a fabulous cook and a talented author?
Either way….
She has taught me things,
which I had no intentions of learning.
(thank you for that, Dolly!)

AND

without a doubt,
she is very deserving of the
Best Food Blog Award

Back to my story. [see how I get sidetracked?]

…well, that is when I said NO MORE of
”not getting emails from those I follow!!!!”

I spent several hours today,
hunting, searching, discovering, learning…….
and a bit of the frustrations of unknown research,
asking the WordPress Support variations of:

WHERE ARE MY SUBSCRIPTION EMAILS?

 

WP HELP EMAIL.JPG

 

And after hours of much trial and error and outdated help topics.…..
I found my answer……

dolly no email.JPG

And with a little click of my mouse,
I will now get notified when she posts.

HOWEVER……

Not only was Dolly’s email turned OFF…..
I found nearly 70 of my subscription emails turned off.

SAY WHAT?

036.JPG
photo/design by ren

 

And in the process,
I have discovered why I am not getting
email notice of another bloggered friend.

I have missed many of his recent posts also!

ericstrong51 no emails.JPG

However, this one…I am not able to correct.
And I feel that by posting the screen shot,
it is the easiest way I can think of to notify him,
so he is able to follow up on it.

And that concludes my post of:

“a funny thing happened to me
on my way through WordPress today”

Thank you,
ren

11 thoughts on “a funny thing happened to me on my way through WordPress today

  1. Love it!!. Every now and then my ipad mini would make a sound, told my college age daughter that I was hearing strange noises. Click here, click there and in less than 20 seconds she says “ma, how long have you heard these sounds?” It is word press letting you know someone was looking at your blog.
    Thank you for the good chuckle.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Your attitude towards WordPress and blogging is the way it should be! I, and I believe I speak for everyone else in WordPress, really respect your conviction to not only write new content but to also read and interact with others’ blogs. Thank you for that! This community needs more people like you.

    Liked by 2 people

    • You are very welcome, Wiz! And thank you!
      For me, reading and interacting with other blogs is over half fun of being at WP.
      Otherwise, it’s a lonely visit here to just write….
      Enjoy your weekend ahead,
      ren

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I never get email notifications from anyone. I thought you just go search the Reader, which is how I found this post. Thanks for the great info. I’ll go make that adjustment.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are very welcome!
      Most of my blogging enjoyment is reading and finding others.

      You might want to contact support about your URL. I am not able to find you at all. Cannot turn on email notice for you either. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Reading is motivating and writing is fun.. and ur blogs sure do motivate me..

    Loved the pic of quotes”everything happens for a reason”.

    Words can sometimes be words
    It can motivate at times for sure is what I learned.
    U my friend inspire me a lot
    May your words or the picture from your shot.
    Love the spirit in you,
    And the enthusiasm that’s in abundance for you.
    Prayers and love is all I can send,
    You are my unseen friend but my strength as well.

    Hugs to you..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

