is Death and Dying for You? : 2012 wave #8

{catch the other posts at Riding The 2012 Wave}

To pull myself out of the grips of depression,
from the loss of my mother,
I looked for a job.
(you will regret that, ego argues)

I had committed to myself,
to take the first job that came my way.
That job was at a nursing home.

100_7521.JPG
photo by ren

Death and dying was what I was wanting to get away from.
I was quite surprised to even be considering this job,
however, I was committed.
I called it irony
and stayed to see what it had to teach me.

[Today, I call it ‘synchronicity,
not irony’.]
(it was just a fluke, rants ego)

I learned a lot from that job in the nursing home.
There was an unwritten rule,
“No one dies alone!”

100_5663.JPG
photo by ren

We took turns sitting with those who were dying.

A kind, middle aged charge nurse trained me
how to sit with a dying person.

I watched as she held their hand,
sponged their forehead,
gently rubbed their back, etc….
while all along,
she would gently talk to them
and tell them it was okay to let go.
They had nothing to fear.
She was there with them if they needed anything.

At first, I was floored!!!
It caught my breath.
I thought she was trying to make them die.

As I observed, I began to understand.

People tend to fear death.
(as they should, states ego)
This nurse was simply comforting the person,
so they could relax
and choose what was best for themselves.
I eventually took on a similar technique,
never fathoming
I would ever apply it in my world,
with friends.

To be continued,
ren

Originally posted June 27, 2016
Updated fall/winter 2016/2017

 

11 thoughts on “is Death and Dying for You? : 2012 wave #8

  1. I like how stream-of-thought the structure of this is–the chiming in of the ego and the hints about what has been and what is to come. Thanks for finding the words to share, and I concur, it’s hard to swallow a day job when the last thing your ego wants to do is be stifled away in a suit!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: is death and dying for you? | Branching Out

  3. when my dad died I first signed up to be a hospice volunteer and then later a hospice nurse. It was the last thing I would have ever thought of doing before experiencing death firsthand myself. Nice post

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanx! 😀 I checked out your site and I really love it!!… Bless you for being here for everyone!

      About 5 years ago, I had ‘experience’ with hospice, while I cared for a friend, dying of cancer.
      I was so grateful for the support they provided. Wonderful experience!

      I am following your blog now and I look forward to your postings. Thank you for finding me. 😀 ren

      Liked by 1 person

      • Appreciate your kind words. Let me know if there is a topic you think I should write on from what you have experienced. thanks for the follow!

        Liked by 1 person

      • You are very welcome.

        Maybe you can help others to understand that just because a person is not responsive, they are still taking in their surroundings.
        As you discovered with your family, at your dad’s beside, telling ‘dad’ stories and he reacting.

        Share your experiences of those you have helped. People love true stories. Change the names and locations for privacy issues.

        I do enjoy reading your blog.
        I love to comment on posts I enjoy.

        However, I will not leave a comment, when there is a ‘contact form’ that I MUST fill out, just to comment.

        I prefer being able to decide when I will ‘contact’ rather than to be ‘forced’ into contact.

        Someone recently posted about this ‘contact form’ topic and many bloggers felt the same as I.

        I felt you needed to know why I am not commenting on your posts.

        Thank you for understanding,
        ren

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for feedback Ren. To be honest I don’t know how to configure the comment box on my site, it came like that I assume with my theme….had also read that filling out the comment box was a way to filter out spam which I’ve had problem with. Did you have to configure yours to take that off?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, I see. I have not needed to configure for removal. I have seen it as an option, but do not recall where.
      Maybe support can help you if you wanted it changed.
      But, it seems to be serving a need for you. I was not aware of it for spam control. I have not had an issue with that.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

