pt 1-how 2012 Flipped my World : 2012 wave #6

 

cold-spring-day.jpg
photo by ren

{catch the other posts at Riding The 2012 Wave}

He turned 21 on that cold 2012 spring morning.
Seemed like just yesterday when he took his first step.
My son had grown into a fine young man.
The childhood memories flowed through the projector of my mind.

The ringing of the phone brought me back to Earth reality.
Caller ID showed it was my best-est friend, Sarah.
I knew why she was calling, she wanted to wish my son a Happy 21st.
(enough of the happy talk, says ego)

That is one thing about Sarah, she never forgets a birthday.

I gleefully answered the phone.
The words I heard,
immediately brought me to a sitting position
and I was cascaded with that numbing sensation.

Sarah never did wish my son a happy birthday.
Instead, she proceeded to tell me
that her mother just died.
Sarah was now all alone and scared.

Sarah was not in the best of health.
Six months prior,
Sarah suffered 3 massive strokes
that left her in a wheelchair
with partial paralysis to one side of her body.
They say she was very fortunate.
She was only in her mid 50’s.

11.JPG
photo by ren  –
this was the last time Sarah walked my yard.
She left my home on Sunday,
after a weekend visit
Less than 12 hours later,
she suffered 3 massive strokes, at her home.

During Sarah’s rehabilitation,
she had to prove she could
‘independently’ take care of herself.

She was focused on being home again
to take care of her mother.

She worked diligently towards her goal
and in just a few months, succeeded.
Sarah was headed home to be with her mom.

to be continued,
ren

Originally posted June 26, 2016
Updated fall/winter 2016/2017

 

2 thoughts on “pt 1-how 2012 Flipped my World : 2012 wave #6

  1. Pingback: how 2012 flipped my world | Branching Out

  2. Pingback: living in a new town… hours away from ‘comfortable’ : 2012 wave #30 | Branching Out

Leave a Reply

