I see Palms differently now

caught rainbow.JPG
photo by ren  –   I caught a rainbow

A California native recently told me that
Palm trees were technically
in the grass family.

Say WHAT????
…so I looked into it…

100_5949.JPG
photo by ren

  • There are more than 2,000 species of Palm trees
  • They are grouped botanically with:
    grasses
    sedge
    bamboo
    grains
    lilies
    onions
    orchards
  • A Palm tree has more in common genetically with
    turf grass
    or
    corn
    than it has with an oak tree
  • Palm trees are a grass giant

100_5948.JPG
photo by ren

I see Palm trees everywhere,
since moving out west.
They intrigue me.

100_5947.JPG
photo by ren

The varieties are many.

They cause me
to feel dwarfed…..
like Alice in Wonderland.

100_5993.JPG
photo by ren

100_5950.JPG
photo by ren

And now that I know they are not a tree,
I view them as a giant grass….
imagining what once fed on them.

100_6106.JPG
photo by ren – hummingbird above the letter ‘n’

DINOSAURS, of course!

It is obvious to me,
that this could have been
Dino food…..
a long-neck’s snack.

100_7800.JPG
photo by ren

And as I look around,
gazing at all the different
Palm trees…

100_6006.JPG
photo by ren

My mind begins to wander once again,
as I spy  this peculiar Palm tree,
in the near distance….

100_6116.JPG
photo by ren

Which turns out to be a fake Palm tree….
What is it for?
What purpose does it serve?
How many other people have noticed this odd giant?

100_6117.JPG
photo by ren

And my mind spins in awe…..

100_6118.JPG
photo of ren, by ren

One thought on “I see Palms differently now

Leave a Reply

