An exchange of hearts….

This post is in response to Liz’s “Give a Gift Challenge” [click here to join the challenge] on her blog, STAY STRONG, DAILY WARRIOR!

Forgive me Liz, for I am stretching your guidelines a bit and
reaching slightly back in time for my contribution.

I believe we were in Colorado at the time…. or perhaps it was California.
We have traveled through many States
on our drive from Michigan to Colorado.
I do know it happened this month.

We entered the local shopping store, simply to use their restroom.
We had only a couple dollars left.
Do we spend it on food or gas for the truck?
Time will tell, how it gets spent. No need to worry.
Everything works out perfectly, the way it should.

As we entered the store,
there was a homeless man to the left of the door.
My heart went out to him.
We also are homeless right now, my adult son and I.

As we passed the man, his request for spare change rang out to us.
I smiled and shook my head no.
My son told him that we also were hungry,
not knowing where our next meal would come from.

My son and I entered the store, used the restroom and left.

The homeless man was still there.

He asked us again, for any spare change.
Perhaps we blended in with the crowd and
he did not recall speaking to us before.

Without hesitation,
my son reached in his pocket and
gave the man one of our last few dollars.

100_5962.JPG

There was an exchange of hearts,
among the 3 of us,
which I have never experienced before.
It went deep within me.

I felt blessed and honored to be able to help this man in his time of need,
regardless of our own situation.
I should have asked him his name…..

Thank you,
ren

8 comments

  1. Hi Ren! It’s ok that this was in the past. It’s a great story… Your son has a big heart and you are definitely daily warriors!

    So thankful you participated. Hope everything’s going well with you at this time..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a beautiful story. Thank you so much for sharing! I found you through Liz’s Give a Gift Challenge, and I will definitely be following you. What a powerful and beautiful connection you shared.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

